Bicycle Drivers

Tam

• Replies 108
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

There was something in the papers about this recently. There's supposed to be a bell on the bike when you buy it, but you can just take it off. But I don't remember ever seeing a bell on a bike in a bike shop. It could probably be googled but i can't be bothered... here to help.. (ahem)

There was something in the papers about this recently. There's supposed to be a bell on the bike when you buy it, but you can just take it off. But I don't remember ever seeing a bell on a bike in a bike shop. It could probably be googled but i can't be bothered... here to help.. (ahem)

There wasn't one on mine, but then I did buy a reconditioned old bike

Agreed. And people with their pesky dogs should stay off cycle paths. :rolleyes:

Absolutely. I've been cycling the 32 miles to and from work for the last 3 months, and I've come to the conclusion that it's safer being on the (dangerous) road than it is on the cycle path. I've come off my bike twice during that time, both times to dog walkers not controlling their pets. Once it was a guy with two dogs on extendable leads; as I went by one dog shoots off leaving him holding the lead across the path at waist height and panicking. The next one, yesterday, was a guy with a dog on the verge of the cycle path not on a lead; as I went by the dog leaps out literally right in front of the bike.

Both occasions, thankfully, the dog owners immediately owned up to their fault. I was concerned that their pets were OK; they were concerned that my obvious cuts and bruises weren't any worse than they looked. Very painful but no lasting damage.

I do think it's a sad indictment that it's safer for cyclists to take their chances on the roads rather than the dangers of dedicated cycle routes. But that's what I do for the journey home...

I couldn't resist the urge to post on this thread...so here I am!